Kale & Compass https://kaleandcompass.com A Food Blog with a Taste for Adventure Mon, 12 Feb 2018 22:04:30 +0000 en-US hourly 1 The Best Avocado Egg Salad https://kaleandcompass.com/best-avocado-egg-salad/ https://kaleandcompass.com/best-avocado-egg-salad/#respond Fri, 09 Feb 2018 03:11:33 +0000 https://kaleandcompass.com/?p=2705 AKA not yo mama’s egg salad! This avocado egg salad is a cross between egg salad and avocado toast, and it's perfect for a slightly-healthier brunch or lunch, any day of the week.

 

Read full post: The Best Avocado Egg Salad

]]>
https://kaleandcompass.com/best-avocado-egg-salad/feed/ 0
Winter Squash Parfaits https://kaleandcompass.com/winter-squash-parfaits/ https://kaleandcompass.com/winter-squash-parfaits/#respond Thu, 01 Feb 2018 01:05:45 +0000 https://kaleandcompass.com/?p=2600 Mix up your breakfast routine with this tasty sweet and savory blend of oven-roasted squash, tart creamy yogurt, crunchy sweet granola and pomegranate seeds bursting with flavor.

 

Read full post: Winter Squash Parfaits

]]>
https://kaleandcompass.com/winter-squash-parfaits/feed/ 0
Cinnamon Cashew Coffee https://kaleandcompass.com/cinnamon-cashew-coffee/ https://kaleandcompass.com/cinnamon-cashew-coffee/#respond Wed, 20 Dec 2017 15:21:57 +0000 https://kaleandcompass.com/?p=2583 A delicious, dairy-free frothy brew of cinnamon-flavored coffee and roasted cashews.

 

Read full post: Cinnamon Cashew Coffee

]]>
https://kaleandcompass.com/cinnamon-cashew-coffee/feed/ 0
Orcas Island: The Return https://kaleandcompass.com/orcas-island-return/ https://kaleandcompass.com/orcas-island-return/#respond Wed, 29 Nov 2017 02:47:09 +0000 https://kaleandcompass.com/?p=2554 There are only so many times you can go back to the same island paradise (said no one ever). Nick and I went back to Orcas Island at the end of September (helloooo belated blog post! #laterlatergram). This time, our

 

Read full post: Orcas Island: The Return

]]>
https://kaleandcompass.com/orcas-island-return/feed/ 0
Moody Carrots + A New Slow Season https://kaleandcompass.com/moody-carrots-new-slow-season/ https://kaleandcompass.com/moody-carrots-new-slow-season/#respond Fri, 17 Nov 2017 12:39:59 +0000 https://kaleandcompass.com/?p=2535 This is the time of year I tend to get swept away in an emotional cocktail of anxiety, joy, self-doubt, and excitement. Time goes by at lightning speed, too. Just like that, the holiday season is over, and it’s back

 

Read full post: Moody Carrots + A New Slow Season

]]>
https://kaleandcompass.com/moody-carrots-new-slow-season/feed/ 0
The Perfect Tahini https://kaleandcompass.com/the-perfect-tahini/ https://kaleandcompass.com/the-perfect-tahini/#respond Sun, 12 Nov 2017 01:00:49 +0000 https://kaleandcompass.com/?p=2523 This is called The Perfect Tahini recipe for a reason. With only 3 ingredients and barely any prep or cook time, you can have perfect homemade tahini.

 

Read full post: The Perfect Tahini

]]>
https://kaleandcompass.com/the-perfect-tahini/feed/ 0
Fall Reading Recs: A rock memoir, dark woods and a stark Icelandic story https://kaleandcompass.com/fall-reading-recs-2017/ https://kaleandcompass.com/fall-reading-recs-2017/#respond Tue, 07 Nov 2017 23:51:54 +0000 https://kaleandcompass.com/?p=2494 I feel like I’ve entered a new and glorious stage of life recently. Why? For one, I’ve started reading more. Not only that, but I’ve made it a priority for how I spend my free time. Because reading makes me

 

Read full post: Fall Reading Recs: A rock memoir, dark woods and a stark Icelandic story

]]>
https://kaleandcompass.com/fall-reading-recs-2017/feed/ 0
Swan Cabin https://kaleandcompass.com/swan-cabin/ https://kaleandcompass.com/swan-cabin/#respond Thu, 02 Nov 2017 11:07:48 +0000 https://kaleandcompass.com/?p=2442 Happy November! This post is brought to you by my lingering sugar high from one-too-many candy corns 😛 Can’t stop won’t stop. A couple weeks ago, Nick and I visited our friends’ cabin in the North Cascades of Washington, by

 

Read full post: Swan Cabin

]]>
https://kaleandcompass.com/swan-cabin/feed/ 0
Cookie Pie https://kaleandcompass.com/cookie-pie/ https://kaleandcompass.com/cookie-pie/#comments Wed, 25 Oct 2017 11:35:28 +0000 https://kaleandcompass.com/?p=2427 Cookie pie is my favorite hack for a quick chocolate chip fix. A simple chocolate chip cookie recipe comes together in a fraction of the time.

 

Read full post: Cookie Pie

]]>
https://kaleandcompass.com/cookie-pie/feed/ 2
Easiest Flour Tortillas https://kaleandcompass.com/easiest-flour-tortillas/ https://kaleandcompass.com/easiest-flour-tortillas/#respond Thu, 19 Oct 2017 11:45:08 +0000 https://kaleandcompass.com/?p=2411 If I could eat only one type of carb for the rest of my life, it’d be flour tortillas. This recipe is a cinch to make at home and light-years tastier than the packaged variety.

 

Read full post: Easiest Flour Tortillas

]]>
https://kaleandcompass.com/easiest-flour-tortillas/feed/ 0